Skip to main content

9th October 2020

The countries you can travel to without having to quarantine

You can travel to countries in the government’s travel corridor list without having to self-isolate when you return to the UK
The countries you can travel to without having to quarantine
Photo: @Unsplash

At the time of writing, you must go into self-isolation for two weeks if you have travelled to many countries outside of the UK.

Some countries on the government’s travel corridor list are considered low risk, which means that you can travel to these countries without quarantining when you return.

On the other hand, countries on the list may impose restrictions on travellers from the UK.

The list is reviewed each week and updated based on the development of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Countries currently on the UK’s travel corridor list are:

  •  Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  •  Anguilla
  •  Antigua and Barbuda
  •  Australia
  •  the Azores
  •  Barbados
  •  Bermuda
  •  British Antarctic Territory
  •  British Indian Ocean Territory
  •  British Virgin Islands
  •  Brunei
  •  Cayman Islands
  •  the Channel Islands
  •  Cuba
  •  Cyprus
  •  Dominica
  •  Estonia
  •  Falkland Islands
  •  Faroe Islands
  •  Fiji
  •  Finland
  •  Gibraltar
  •  Germany
  •  Greece (except the islands of Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Santorini, Serifos, Tinos and Zakynthos – if you arrive in England from any of these islands you will need to self-isolate)
  •  Greenland
  •  Grenada
  •  Hong Kong
  •  Ireland
  •  the Isle of Man
  •  Italy
  •  Japan
  •  Latvia
  •  Liechtenstein
  •  Lithuania
  •  Macao (Macau)
  •  Madeira
  •  Malaysia
  •  Mauritius
  •  Montserrat
  •  New Caledonia
  •  New Zealand
  •  Norway
  •  Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  •  San Marino
  •  Seychelles
  •  Singapore (if you arrived in England from Singapore before 4am 19 September 2020 you will need to self-isolate)
  •  South Korea
  •  South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  •  St Barthélemy
  •  St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  •  St Kitts and Nevis
  •  St Lucia
  •  St Pierre and Miquelon
  •  St Vincent and the Grenadines
  •  Sweden
  •  Taiwan
  •  Thailand (if you arrived in England from Thailand before 4am 19 September 2020 you will need to self-isolate)
  •  Vatican City State
  •  Vietnam

Regardless of where you come from, you must fill in a passenger locator form before you arrive in the UK – or else you’re committing a crime, and risk a fine of £100.

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office advises British nationals against all but essential international travel.

To keep up to date with the latest travel advice, sign up the UK government’s email alerts.

The information in this article is correct as of the time of writing.

Anna Jin

Anna Jin

Instagram & Twitter: @annahanjin

More Coverage

Manchester Camp of Resistance disruption spreads across campus

An instagram post by MLA shows protestors occupying University Place, the same day that the encampment spread onto the Alan Gilbert square

Students and public display solidarity with student occupation in face of police presence

Protesters and police gathered outside the building on May 27, but the occupation remains on-going

65% of UoM’s electricity demand to be supplied by new solar farm deal

As part of the University of Manchester’s goal of zero carbon emissions by 2038, a new contract has been signed which meets 65% of the University’s electricity demand with clean, renewable electricity

Tickets for ‘Alive! Festival: Solstice’ out now

The student-run event will be “taking over the SU” on June 6, with 5 stages and 30 student artists