6th May 2022

We Move: The debut collection by former Mancunion Books Editor Gurnaik Johal

We spoke to Gurnaik Johal about his new short story collection We Move and his experience as a student at The University of Manchester

Books



Don’t judge a ‘blook’ by its cover
1st May 2022

Don’t judge a ‘blook’ by its cover

What links a viral story about German tax on period products and an exploding gift?
Review: People Person by Candice Carty-Williams
26th April 2022

Review: People Person by Candice Carty-Williams

Does People Person live up to Candice Carty-Williams’ debut bestseller Queenie?

Get involved with Books

Mothers of all kinds
25th March 2022

Mothers of all kinds

With Mother’s Day nearly upon us, Audre Lorde’s essay discussing her experience of lesbian parenthood from her collection ‘Sister Outsider’ is the perfect text to reflect on non-conventional parent dynamics
The Handmaid’s Tale revisited
22nd March 2022

The Handmaid’s Tale revisited

The Handmaid’s Tale and The Testaments detail a new America: Gilead. Though rooted in fantasy, Gilead reflects the disasters of today
Feminist Collective Lit Club: read your way to accessible feminism
20th March 2022

Feminist Collective Lit Club: read your way to accessible feminism

The UoM Feminist Collective have brought back their Lit Club, online and accessible to all. Find out what they’ve got coming up!
How to Kill Your Family, kill subtlety, and kill nuance
15th March 2022

How to Kill Your Family, kill subtlety, and kill nuance

Bella Mackie’s debut fiction novel How to Kill Your Family is let down by its lack of subtlety and its caricatured characters
Literary Friction: A podcast for book lovers
10th March 2022

Literary Friction: A podcast for book lovers

Ava Innes explores Literary Friction, a podcast perfect for those who need a break from books, but not the ideas behind them
A little review of a large book: To Paradise by Hanya Yanagihara
7th March 2022

A little review of a large book: To Paradise by Hanya Yanagihara

Does Hanya Yanagihara’s To Paradise live up to the success of her much loved previous novel A Little Life?
A Little Life: looking back at Hanya Yanagihara’s bestseller
7th March 2022

A Little Life: looking back at Hanya Yanagihara’s bestseller

In light of the release of To Paradise, we take a look at Hanya Yanagihara’s previous bestseller A Little Life to see why it is still shaking its readers to their core
A little event: an evening with Hanya Yanagihara
7th March 2022

A little event: an evening with Hanya Yanagihara

Hanya Yanagihara came to Manchester, a dream come true for fans of A Little Life and To Paradise
TikTok made me read it: It Ends with Us
2nd March 2022

TikTok made me read it: It Ends with Us

Can content warnings ruin a book’s storyline? Hannah Wellock reviews BookTok sensation and New York Times Best Seller It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover and discusses its lack of a content warning
It’s ace being ace: a review of Ace by Angela Chen
1st March 2022

It’s ace being ace: a review of Ace by Angela Chen

Whether this is your first time hearing the term asexuality or you identify as asexual, Ace by Angela Chen is essential reading
TikTok made me read it: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
24th February 2022

TikTok made me read it: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

By delving into the world of Evelyn Hugo and her seven husbands, we look at whether Taylor Jenkins Reid’s book is worth the hype surrounding it on TikTok
This is [not] Going to Hurt book sales
22nd February 2022

This is [not] Going to Hurt book sales

Is Adam Kay milking the success of his bestselling memoir This is Going to Hurt?
Snapshots of the Apocalypse: swap deadlines for dystopias
17th February 2022

Snapshots of the Apocalypse: swap deadlines for dystopias

Snapshots of the Apocalypse, the new short story collection by Katy Wimhurst, makes the perfect reading for study breaks
In conversation with Dr Clara Dawson about decolonising the curriculum
17th February 2022

In conversation with Dr Clara Dawson about decolonising the curriculum

Jacob Folkard talks to Dr Clara Dawson on how to examine our past for a better future, and what the steps The University of Manchester have taken to decolonise the literature curriculum
Make 2022 the year you read
17th February 2022

Make 2022 the year you read

Have you always wanted to read more books? Look no further, here we have a couple of tips and a book list to get you started.

Copyright © The Mancunion
Powered By Spotlight Studios

0161 275 2930  University of Manchester’s Students’ Union, Oxford Rd, Manchester M13 9PR